Tag Archives: the Europa League

Learn about the history of the Europa League football tournament (Part 1)

Europa League tournament originated from the idea of ​​3 people including Ottorino Barrasi (Italian nationality), Ernst Thornmen (Swiss nationality) and Stanlay Rous (British nationality) from the 50s of last century.

Earlier, on 18 April 1955, the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup was launched. Then officially held in 10 European cities participating with 10 teams.

The first Europa League tournament was extended for a period of 3 years

The first tournament was extended for a period of 3 years (1955 – 1958). Until 1971-1972, this fair ball tournament was first changed to the UEFA Cup. However, from the 1999-2000 season, the Cup C2, the abbreviation for the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, was eliminated.

It was later merged into the C3 Cup (but still kept the UEFA Cup). Besides, if the team wins the domestic cup, they will have the right to participate in this tournament.

When the UEFA tournament allowed to increase the number of clubs participating in the table to 48 teams. At this point it was officially called the Europa League.

The format of the Europa League tournament

From the season 2018 – 2019, what are the conditions and the format of the Europa League tournament? It changes as follows: Not only the teams that got eliminated in the third round are involved but all the domestic champions lose in the UEFA Champions League qualifying.

Besides, a total of 213 teams from all 55 UEFA member associations will participate in the UEFA Europa League 2018-2019. Association ranking based on UEFA national coefficient will be used to can accurately determine the number of teams participating in each association.

Distinguish the Champions League and the Europa League

Distinguish the Champions League and the Europa League

It will be difficult to distinguish these two exciting tournaments. Therefore, it is only possible to distinguish between the top level, when the UEFA Champions League is the Cup C2, and the UEFA Europa League is the Cup C2. Both of these tournaments are organized by UEFA. Both of these tournaments are attended by famous European clubs.

The UEFA Champions League began in the 1955–1956 season and served as the European Cup. This award brings together the most famous and best football clubs in the world football industry. On the other hand, the Cup C2 was first held in 1971, which was held in 2nd place when clubs could not participate in the Cup.

Europa League as the second most prestigious European football league (Part 2)

Europa League records

What is the Europa League championship and what are the achievements of the teams in the history of this tournament? In the list of participating in the Europa League and the list of teams that have won the most championships, there is Spanish Club and Sevilla – the name has 5 times lifted the championship. But there are also many teams claiming to be the Europa League only once.

Before the time when many people did not know what the Europa League was until the tournament was renamed, only the Sevilla club successfully defended its championship.

And then there are rules and modes of competition and rewards that are issued. In particular, if clubs win the championship in three consecutive seasons, the European Football Federation will have the championship attached to their sleeves. That is a very special feature of this tournament.

Europa League format

Before the Europa League tournament became more professional, the regulations issued by the European Union were not working well. That is why many people still do not know what the Europa League and what is its regulation?

However, at present, the Europa League format and conditions have begun to change from the 2018-2019 season, specifically the UEFA Europa League fixtures are not only for the teams that are eliminated in the third round. All the domestic champions who lost in the UEFA Champions League qualifiers will also be transferred to the UEFA Europa League to participate in the competition.

Europa League championship list

Up to now, many teams from European countries have won this prestigious trophy. Let’s take a look at the names of the following football teams.

The team that has 6 times winning the championship: Sevilla

Football teams that won 3 times Championships: Liverpool, Valencia, Inter Milan, Barcelona, ​​Juventus.

The team won two championships: Atletico Madrid, FC Porto, Feyenoord, Parma, IFK Goteborg, Real Madrid, Tottenham Hotspur, Leeds Utd, Borussia Monchengladbach.

UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League

It will be easy for you to understand what the Europa League is if you consider both tournaments. Both the Champions League and the Europa League are organized by UEFA. They are both open to European football clubs.

Despite not being the most attractive football league, the Europa League has its certain position to football fans.

MU meets Sevilla in the semi-finals of the Europa League 2019-20

Although not experienced in the Europa League arena like Sevilla, Wolves showed that they were not inferior to their opponents. Not only that, Wolves are the better team to join.

In the 13th minute, Wolves had a very good chance to open the score. Defender Sevilla fouled Adama Traore in the penalty area, Wolves were awarded a penalty. However, Raul Jimenez failed.

Raul Jimenez missed the chance to help Wolves score

After this situation, Sevilla gradually regained his posture and created a tit-for-tat with Wolves. Suso, En-Nesyri, or Lucas Ocampos all had the opportunity to intimidate goalie Rui Patricio, but all failed to beat the Portuguese goalkeeper. The first half ended 0-0.

Entering the second half, Sevilla maintained control of the ball but had difficulty in deploying an attack against Wolves’ defensive ability. Towards the end of the match, when everyone thought about the fact that the two teams had to decide to win or lose by extra time, the goal suddenly came. In the 88th minute, from a teammate’s free-kick, Lucas Ocampos hit Wolves’ head in the net, scoring the only goal of the match.

Winning the match 1-0, Sevilla won a ticket to play in the semi-finals of the Europa League. Sevilla’s opponent will be MU, the team that defeated Copenhagen also 1-0 in the previous match.

In the other match, Shakhtar Donetsk destroyed the opponent Basel with the score 4-1. The goals of the Ukraine representative were scored by Junior Moraes Mora (2 ‘), Taison (22’), Alan Patrick (75 ‘), and Dodo (88’). Meanwhile, Ricky van Wolfswinkel is Basel’s honorary scorer (90 ‘+ 2). In the semifinals, Shakhtar Donetsk will face Inter Milan, who overcame Bayer Leverkusen 2-1.

Sevilla is a strong opponent

Sevilla is the team that holds the record for most Europa League championships. According to statistics, every time they reach the quarter-finals of the Europa League, Sevilla wins. In La Liga last season, Sevilla also impressed when they finished fourth, behind Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid.

As scheduled, the semi-finals of the Europa League 2019-20 will take place in Germany on August 17 and 18.